NOSM Faculty & Staff Association

OPSEU NOSM Local 677

Tel: 807-621-7782

Academic & Professional Staff (Unit 1)

Unit 1

Unit 1 represents full time faculty, professional librarians, curriculum instructional designers, learner affairs officers and ME (medical education) database administrators working for the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.

Bargaining Unit Members voted to unionize with the Faculty Association in December 2005, and the Ontario Labour Relations Board issued a certificate in January 2006. In December 2006 the first Collective Agreement (2006-08) was ratified.

In June 2008 the initial bargaining unit voted to join the Ontario Public Service Employees Union and negotiated a second Collective Agreement (2008-2011) as OPSEU NOSM Local 677. As part of the terms of transfer into OPSEU the Local and its Members remain Members of the NOSMFSA. Collective Agreements negotiated since: 2011-2015; 2015-2018; 2018-2022.

Members of the Local Executive who are in the Unit form the Unit 1 Committee. It meets regularly and has the Executive responsibility for matters such as Unit specific negotiations and grievances. The Unit 1 Committee has a Grievance Committee and, during bargaining, a Negotiations Committee. The Grievance and Negotiations Committees report to the Unit 1 Committee. In turn the Unit 1 Committee reports to the Unit 1 Members in Unit Membership Meetings.

The current Unit 1 Committee is as follows:

  • Unit 1 President (aka Unit 1 Local VP) Simon Lees
  • Unit 1 Secretary: Sophie Regalado
  • Full-time faculty: Carita Lanner
  • Curriculum Instructional Designers/ME Database Administrators: Kristen Shaw
  • Professional Librarian: Sophie Regalado
  • Learner Affairs Officers: Laura Csontos
  • Member at Large (Academic Staff, North Eastern Ontario):
    • Tom Kovala
    • Sherry Mongeau
    • Christina Tremblay
    • Lorrilee McGregor
    • Marion Maar
  • Member at Large (Academic Staff, North Western Ontario):
    • Erin Cameron
    • Zach Suntres
    • Geoffrey Hudson
    • Simon Lees
    • Brian Ross

Click on this link to see a list of terms and references to selection processes.

Other & Ad hoc Committees and Service (Union)

  • Joint Consultative Committee (JCC: Unit 1 President, Chief Negotiating Officer & an additional member of the Unit Committee)
  • JCC Academic & Professional Staff Professional Development Subcommittees: Geoff Hudson and TBD
  • Scholarship Committee: Zach Suntres & Sophie Regalado
  • Chief Negotiating Officer: Geoff Hudson
  • Unit 1 Trustee: Donna Newhouse (not on Unit 1 Committee)
  • Sudbury & District Labour Council rep: TBD
  • Thunder Bay & District Labour Council: Geoff Hudson
  • Pension Committee: Zach Suntres
  • Health and Safety Reps: Tom Kovala (East Campus); Simon Lees (West Campus)

The Unit 1 Committee meets monthly. If you are a Unit 1 Member who is not on the Committee but you wish as a Member to observe you are of course free to do so, just send an email to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it for information about the next Meeting. To bring an item of concern or a question to the attention of the Unit 1 Committee contact the relevant representative and/or the Unit President at any time. In addition Members are reminded that every Unit Membership and Unit 1 (Executive) Committee meeting includes an 'any other business' agenda item. As per our longstanding practice meeting minutes are available on request to Unit Members.