Skip to main content
Cropped view of woman writing in notebook and sitting at desk with laptop computer

Unit Unit 2 represents (full and part time) office, clerical, administrative, technical and service employees working for the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.

The Unit was created in March 2009 by staff when they voted to create their own Union, joining OPSEU Local 677 as a separate Staff Bargaining Unit. In November 2010 the Staff Unit’s first Collective Agreement (2009-2012) was ratified. Staff Unit Members are Members of the NOSMFSA.

Members of the Local Executive who are in the Unit form the Unit 2 Committee. It meets regularly and has the Executive responsibility for matters such as Unit specific negotiations and grievances. The Unit 2 Committee has a Grievance Committee and, during bargaining, a Negotiations Committee. The Grievance and Negotiations Committees report to the Unit 2 Committee. In turn the Unit 2 Committee reports to the Unit 2 Members in Unit Membership Meetings.

The current Unit 2 Committee is as follows:

Unit 2 President (aka Local VP Unit 2):
Jason Lind

Unit 2 Secretary:
Rachel Schaaf

VP East:
Kelly Merla

Region 6 Stewards (North Eastern Ontario):

  • Linda Liboiron-Grenier
  • Jason Lind
  • Chris Czaja
  • Kelly Merla
  • Shreedhar Acharya

Region 7 Stewards (North Western Ontario):

  • Pam Tallon
  • Nova Mason
  • Ghislaine Attema
  • Michael Lenardon
  • Lisa Kokanie

Members at Large

  • Rachel Schaaf
  • Dawn Grover
  • Alexandra Polling

The Unit 2 Committee meets regularly. If you are a Unit 2 Member who is not on the Committee but you wish as a Member to observe you are of course free to do so, just send an email to for information about the next meeting. To bring an item of concern or a question to the attention of the Unit 2 Committee contact the relevant representative and/or the Unit President at any time. In addition Members are reminded that every Unit Membership and Unit 2 Committee meeting includes an ‘any other business’ agenda item. Minutes are available on request to Unit Members.